The construction of the United Nations, begun in 1948, led to significant changes in Tudor City, part of the city's effort to clean up the immediate neighborhood, particularly the area around the UN’s signature building, the Secretariat. We'll explore specific alterations in more detail in future posts, but here’s an overview of the changes wrought by the UN's arrival.
42nd Street widened and leveled
Entrances to the Woodstock, Hotel Tudor and Church of the Covenant lowered 17 feet
Demolition of rowhouses and service roads, replaced by playgrounds and staircases
Modern bridge replaces 19th-century tunnel
|The two-lane 42nd Street Tunnel, built in 1880, was a renowned traffic bottleneck for years, and replaced by a sleeker bridge in 1952. Above, the original tunnel, looking west down 42nd Street.|
Changes to the eastern walls of No. 25 and No. 45.
|The eastern walls of Tudor and Prospect Towers along First Ave were originally lined by warehouses at street level. They were demolished and replaced by two vest-pocket parks.|
Tudor City Place widened and paved with asphalt. Parks are narrowed 15 feet.
|Corner of Tudor City Place and 43rd Street, with the narrowing of the park just begun.|
All these alterations took place over a hellish four-year period from 1948 to 1952, probably the worst four years in Tudor City history. Detours, jackhammers, explosions and soot galore made life difficult. Residents fought every change tooth and nail, but that's totally in character -- as we shall see in future posts, Tudor City has always been a very vocal community.
At least the local liquor store could see some humor (and profit) in the situation...