July 22, 2016

Building Spotlight: THE MANOR

Continuing our survey of individual Tudor City buildings, here's The Manor, known within the French Company as the Second Unit.
333 E. 43rd St.


- Opened September 30, 1927, second building completed in Tudor City. Faced with brick and terra cotta.
- 10 floors, 215 housekeeping apartments, 9 penthouses with roof gardens. Most units are one- and two-bedrooms.
- Originally housed a through-the-block passageway to the Unique Garage on 44th Street, the official Tudor City car park.
- Best known for its elaborate terra cotta work, modeled after the ornament on Sutton Place, a listed Tudor manor house in Surrey, England built in 1552.  

At left, a detail of the terra cotta, featuring a lion and a star amid intricate geometric patterns
Below, a wild boar and a falcon


The building pictured in a 1930 brochure
The garage passageway was a much-touted amenity                  Floor plan, circa 1930

No comments:

Post a Comment