December 9, 2016

The THIRD PARK

Direct from the Strange-But-True files comes this fun tidbit -- for 22 years there was a third park in Tudor City, nestled between the North and South Parks. The Middle Park, if you will. As shown below, the Middle Park was a narrow sliver atop the 42nd Street tunnel, bisected by Prospect Place.

This third park was in place from 1927, when the complex opened, until 1949, when the 42nd Street tunnel was torn down to make way for the new bridge.

The third park was bordered on either side by service roads leading up to Prospect Place. This view (made from within the park) looks west down 42nd Street, with the Woodstock, Chanin Building and 2nd Ave elevated train in the distance. The rowhouses at right were owned by the French Company, but never developed, and replaced by the Ford Foundation in the 1960s. 

On the other side of Prospect Place was a tiny green space complete with its own gazebo. People liked it because it was breezy. View looks southeast, with No. 25 in the background.

For some perspective, here's the third park (arrow) as seen from the Manor, looking south along Tudor City Place. In the foreground, is the North Park with its gravel paths, fountain and vine-covered pergola.


No comments:

Post a Comment